ZenHAX

Free Game Research Forum | Official QuickBMS support | twitter @zenhax | SSL HTTPS://zenhax.com
It is currently Sun Sep 24, 2017 8:33 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 49 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Jun 23, 2015 1:11 pm 
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2014 9:32 pm
Posts: 6694
Regarding the first screenshot, it seems the same problem of that user happening immediately after the selection of the script.
Can you check if you have the same problem is you use older version of quickbms like the following?
http://aluigi.org/papers/quickbms_0.6.1d.zip
http://aluigi.org/papers/quickbms_0.6.zip

Screenshot 2: I guess you specified something via .bat or shortcut when you launched quickbms.exe, anyway I will fix it.

Screenshot 3: everything worked correctly, don't worry about the last error. As you can see you reached a 100% coverage so it's ok.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jun 23, 2015 3:59 pm 

Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2015 3:37 pm
Posts: 2
hello. i do have exactly a same problem. as kingjigglypuff.
im using windows 8.1 and run a Nvidia card.
i dont know how to use a command prompt, but ill understand if there's a step.
ive tried using InjectedDLL and it shows this

Image

now, what should i do?


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jun 23, 2015 4:03 pm 
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2014 9:32 pm
Posts: 6694
The quick solution is using quickbms from the command-line while waiting for the next version.

I have checked the image and apparently there are no external dlls so the problem is probably somewhere else.
In the meantime I'm trying to find to what the problem may be but it's difficult without having the problem here.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jun 23, 2015 4:14 pm 
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2014 9:32 pm
Posts: 6694
Could you please tell me if with -9 you have the same problem or not?


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jun 23, 2015 4:36 pm 
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2014 9:32 pm
Posts: 6694
Let's try slowly step-by-step.
In attachment you can find the code that causes the crash embedded in a new basic program.

You can select any file because they are not used, it's just a selecion.
Can you tell me if also this test tool crashes?


Attachments:
test.zip [9.32 KiB]
Downloaded 65 times
Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jun 23, 2015 5:05 pm 

Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2015 12:50 pm
Posts: 3
aluigi wrote:
Regarding the first screenshot, it seems the same problem of that user happening immediately after the selection of the script.
Can you check if you have the same problem is you use older version of quickbms like the following?
http://aluigi.org/papers/quickbms_0.6.1d.zip
http://aluigi.org/papers/quickbms_0.6.zip

Screenshot 2: I guess you specified something via .bat or shortcut when you launched quickbms.exe, anyway I will fix it.

Screenshot 3: everything worked correctly, don't worry about the last error. As you can see you reached a 100% coverage so it's ok.


Sorry for responding so slow, I honestly didn't notice there was a page 2 of the thread :P

so as you said
aluigi wrote:
Screenshot 3: everything worked correctly, don't worry about the last error. As you can see you reached a 100% coverage so it's ok.


this is true, files were extracted into the folder i created, but the doesn't go for the other files i try to extract. I'll post the entire log for file Nr.2

http://pastie.org/10255108

I tried to launch it in "-9 mode" but didn't seem to have much success, also are those links to the odler versions of quickBMS working?


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jun 23, 2015 5:23 pm 
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2014 9:32 pm
Posts: 6694
In your case -9 worked.
The problem there is the script you are using because quickbms didn't crash.

And yes, obviously those link to the older versions of quickbms work. Click on "Here" or copy&paste the link in your browser.

P.S.: what's your exact Windows 8.1 version?
On Windows 8.1 Pro the location of the crash is not valid.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jun 23, 2015 10:37 pm 

Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2015 12:50 pm
Posts: 3
aluigi wrote:
In your case -9 worked.
The problem there is the script you are using because quickbms didn't crash.

And yes, obviously those link to the older versions of quickbms work. Click on "Here" or copy&paste the link in your browser.

P.S.: what's your exact Windows 8.1 version?
On Windows 8.1 Pro the location of the crash is not valid.


I am using windows 8.1 pro, but from what it seems i was looking at a bad tutorial, there are better ways of modding that game it seems :P

Thanks for the help though, I'll be back if i ever need to use your software again. I'm not even sure what it is that you guys do here, but it looks pretty cool ^^


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jun 24, 2015 4:25 am 

Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2015 3:37 pm
Posts: 2
aluigi wrote:
Could you please tell me if with -9 you have the same problem or not?


yes i have, it doesnt work either


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jun 24, 2015 7:52 pm 
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2014 9:32 pm
Posts: 6694
Any feedback from the test.exe tool I posted?


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jun 29, 2015 6:50 pm 

Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2015 2:11 am
Posts: 14
aluigi wrote:
Are you alive?
Oh, sorry. Yes, I'm alive. Sorry for not noticing earlier. I sent you a PM with my dll results.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jun 29, 2015 7:32 pm 
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2014 9:32 pm
Posts: 6694
@KingJigglypuff
ok, you have only one external dll in the process but I don't think it's the cause of the problems, after all you said that disabling the AV doesn't solve the problem.

Can you try the test tool available here?

What I want to do is understanding if test.exe crashes too and then working on it to fix the issue.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jun 29, 2015 7:49 pm 

Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2015 2:11 am
Posts: 14
I'm able to open the script with test.exe, but it then crashes with a "test.exe has stopped working" error.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jun 29, 2015 8:23 pm 
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2014 9:32 pm
Posts: 6694
That's a fantatic news, it means that now it's easy to work on a solution because it's the same problem of quickbms.
Tomorrow I will provide other new test.exe to guess what can be the problem.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jun 29, 2015 8:32 pm 

Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2015 2:11 am
Posts: 14
That's great to hear.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jun 29, 2015 10:03 pm 
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2014 9:32 pm
Posts: 6694
Ok I have prepared a set of new tests, could you please tell me if some of them don't crash?


Attachments:
test.zip [26.7 KiB]
Downloaded 56 times
Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jun 29, 2015 10:16 pm 

Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2015 2:11 am
Posts: 14
Test1, test2, and test5 crash after opening the script. Test3 and test4 don't crash, but they don't quite work. I open up test3/4 and open the script, but when I open the file the script was made for, it goes right back to asking to open the script.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jun 29, 2015 10:47 pm 
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2014 9:32 pm
Posts: 6694
That's exactly what the test tool does. It's like an endless loop that asks you to open the script and the input file.

So we have found the culprit.
For some unknown and senselss reasons Windows 8.1 wants OFN_ENABLEHOOK and an useless hooking callback... really senselss but at least now I have a fix for the next quickbms.

Thanks for the tests KingJigglypuff.

P.S.: the negative side of this work-around is that the dialog looks horrible: https://stackoverflow.com/questions/473 ... enfilename


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jun 29, 2015 10:53 pm 

Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2015 2:11 am
Posts: 14
You're welcome. Thanks a lot for helping out.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jul 08, 2015 10:29 am 
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2014 9:32 pm
Posts: 6694
QuickBMS 0.6.5 has been just released and contains the work-around to avoid the crashes on Windows 8.1.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 49 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 Next

All times are UTC


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited