ZenHAX

Free Game Research Forum | Official QuickBMS support | twitter @zenhax | SSL HTTPS://zenhax.com
It is currently Wed Oct 18, 2017 10:20 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 251 posts ]  Go to page Previous 17 8 9 10 1113 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Dec 13, 2016 8:59 pm 
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2014 9:32 pm
Posts: 6874
The final \" is probably the problem.
Try using "%%~dpi\"


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Dec 14, 2016 1:52 pm 

Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2014 5:26 pm
Posts: 228
Thanks, it works with two "\"


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jan 23, 2017 5:05 pm 

Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2017 5:01 pm
Posts: 3
QuickBMS crashes with this testcase.


Attachments:
test.zip [95.24 KiB]
Downloaded 51 times
Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jan 23, 2017 6:45 pm 
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2014 9:32 pm
Posts: 6874
Eh, unfortunately not all the TotalCommander plugins can be easily supported.
When I tested this feature many years ago (far 2010) I had success with many TC plugins but those more complex relying on specific TC features/functions/callbacks can't work correctly. I guess InstallExplorer is one of them.

I'm quite surprised someone uses this feature of quickbms :) I never received feedback about it.

Anyway regarding InstallExplorer, it's a jurassik plugin that has been superseed by other standalone tools for the specific installers (innounp for InnoSetup is one of the main examples).


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jan 23, 2017 7:30 pm 

Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2017 5:01 pm
Posts: 3
Well, let's say Installshields are totally different beasts.
But anyway, if you say WONTFIX, I'm fine.

I guess perhaps the program shouldn't *crash* though.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jan 23, 2017 7:41 pm 
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2014 9:32 pm
Posts: 6874
Maybe I can take a look at some TC plugins for the next release but it's just for curiosity rather than for real interest (so yeah the WONTFIX tag is probably correct).
I have not checked the crash, is it in the quickbms code or in the plugin that it's looking for a missing callback?


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jan 23, 2017 8:13 pm 

Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2017 5:01 pm
Posts: 3
Code:
-------------------
*EXCEPTION HANDLER*
-------------------
An error or crash occurred:

*EH* ExceptionCode      c0000005 access violation
*EH* ExceptionFlags     00000000
*EH* ExceptionAddress   001f5724
                        001F0000 + 00005724 InstExpl.dll
*EH* NumberParameters   00000002
*EH*                    00000000
*EH*                    3a43c64a


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Feb 10, 2017 5:55 pm 

Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2016 8:18 pm
Posts: 15
When I use recursive function, position for "get" operator is not restored to its original value after execution of that function. Is this behavior intentional?

I can deal with this quirk by saving position before calling function, but I'm curious to know is this a bug or not.


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Feb 10, 2017 6:01 pm 
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2014 9:32 pm
Posts: 6874
Yes that's on purpose.
Go with:
Code:
startfunction FUNC
    savepos BCK_OFF
    ...
    goto BCK_OFF
endfunction


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Mar 05, 2017 1:45 pm 

Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2014 10:28 pm
Posts: 131
having trouble with oodle in quickbms.
It works fine for some chunks but fails on others.
I am thinking mabee they are using newer version?
https://github.com/powzix/kraken

00 00 EC 80 00 00 00 00 00 00 04 00 2C 7F 93 3E 6E 1C 20 23 00 00 00 00 77 C8 03 00 93 DC D7 6B - works - sample1
00 00 F0 80 00 00 00 00 00 00 04 00 3C 49 E6 C0 E5 E4 23 23 00 00 00 00 33 CF 03 00 EC 9F 78 FB - fails - sample2
00 00 F4 80 00 00 00 00 00 00 04 00 FB B5 3B 80 18 B4 27 23 00 00 00 00 57 CE 03 00 21 D0 4B 7C - crash - sample3

decompressed size is always 0x40000
compressed size is the size of the sample


Attachments:
samples.zip [729.97 KiB]
Downloaded 31 times
oodle_decompressors.zip [2.46 MiB]
Downloaded 34 times
Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Mar 05, 2017 2:09 pm 
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2014 9:32 pm
Posts: 6874
Oodle has long history of compatibility problems of its own algorithms, it's enough to check the changelog:
http://www.radgametools.com/oodlehist.htm
What I mean is that data created with a version of oodle may not be compatible with other versions (even newer versions).
Quickbms 0.7.7 uses oodle 2.3.0.

Anyway quickbms simply calls OodleLZ_Decompress on the data "as is", it performs absolutely no operation on the bytes of the input data (that happens only if you specify a raw algorithm, not the default behaviour).


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Mar 05, 2017 2:15 pm 

Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2014 10:28 pm
Posts: 131
the chunks are from the same archive.
quickbms decompressed 19gb from the file fine then failed on everything for the remaining 12gb starting at this sample here.
this is ps4 sample.
looks like it might be the 2.40 version they used.
Oodle 2.4.0 is up--New Hydra automatically selects Kraken/Mermaid/Selkie and new Mermaid+ compressor with slightly higher compression!


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Mar 05, 2017 4:12 pm 
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2014 9:32 pm
Posts: 6874
Unfortunately 2.3.0 was the only oodle dll available on Warframe when I released quickbms 0.7.7
Currently the 2.4.1 is available but I don't know when I'm going to work on the next quickbms.
In your case it's probably more easy to write a simple tool from scratch, after all it's just one API to call... ok it's not that simple to be honest because in the past the oodle developers changed even the prototype of the main API! :O


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Mar 08, 2017 4:23 am 

Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2016 8:18 pm
Posts: 15
Just thought about something... Few times I had problems with break operator, those problems often was solvable, but sometimes they give real headaches, so I have idea about solution for this problem. Why not add labels for the cycles? And when we need to break some cycle then we could point break to the label of that cycle.

Also I think that labels for the script in general are also needed, this could help a lot in writing custom decompress functions, because disassembled code often can have lots of branches and it is not that easy to unwrap such code, there also can be some platform specific optimizations inside that code which gives even more confusion. So labels are must have in such situations.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Mar 08, 2017 12:14 pm 
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2014 9:32 pm
Posts: 6874
Compression and custom encryption algorithm should not implemented in bms language.
The correct way is dumping the function/dll (maybe in a MEMORY_FILE to avoid external files) and using it with CallDLL.

Labels for the cycles?
The language is meant to be simple and as close as possible to the original one.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Mar 08, 2017 12:36 pm 

Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2016 8:18 pm
Posts: 15
Then how to fix that very annoying bug in the other way? Sometimes break is pretty much useless in its current state, either it doesn't work as it should or gives unpredictable result, but many decompression algorithms rely on break in the cycles, there is no other solution for such cases.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Mar 08, 2017 12:41 pm 
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2014 9:32 pm
Posts: 6874
The work-around I use when I need it (rarely to be honest) is an OK variable set to 1 by default, and set to 0 when I have to break or I set the initial value of the cycle to a value that causes its termination (for example i = 9999 if for i = 0 < 100).

Just curious, what compression algorithms are you implementing in bms language?
I bet it's graphic stuff, right?


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Mar 08, 2017 12:44 pm 

Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2016 8:18 pm
Posts: 15
aluigi wrote:
Compression and custom encryption algorithm should not implemented in bms language.
The correct way is dumping the function/dll (maybe in a MEMORY_FILE to avoid external files) and using it with CallDLL.


Dumping function from where to where? From MIPS code to where? Or from PowerPC? Or from ARM? Games exist not only for PC, don't you understand it? And the only way is to disassemble game's native code, find decompression routine and translate it manually into human readable code. If quickbms can do so many things then it should handle the most basic functions flawlessly. Otherwise why you implemented all those functions at all?


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Mar 08, 2017 12:47 pm 
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2014 9:32 pm
Posts: 6874
"break" wasn't available in the original language.
So can't you just translate the reverse engineerd function into C code and use it (yeah "dumping" since there is no need of dll if it's simple) with calldll?


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Mar 08, 2017 12:48 pm 
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2014 9:32 pm
Posts: 6874
And in any case I prefer to have a "break" that works in most of cases rather than not having it at all.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 251 posts ]  Go to page Previous 17 8 9 10 1113 Next

All times are UTC


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited