ZenHAX
http://zenhax.com/

Star Wars Battlefront III - .rax Model Files
http://zenhax.com/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=7476
Page 1 of 1

Author:  YoYoCoruscant [ Fri Mar 02, 2018 1:34 am ]
Post subject:  Star Wars Battlefront III - .rax Model Files

These are the files from the 'Star Wars Battlefront III Pre-Alpha (Xbox 360)' - which were extracted from .PAK using this quickBMS script: http://hl.altervista.org/split.php?http ... /swbf3.bms

Only one program is available atm which can convert/open these models which is: http://www.unwrap3d.com/u3d/downloads.aspx but it costs: $59.95. And using it just to convert some models is not worth it. There are a lot more people who wish to use/look at these models. Wondering if anybody could create a script to get the models in a usable format (with uvs) such as FBX with multi sub object materials working (correct uvs). Attached is 3 sample Krayt dragon .rax files models.

Attachments:
File comment: KraytDragon .rax Model Files
KraytDragon.zip [92.91 KiB]
Downloaded 51 times

Author:  Szkaradek123 [ Sun Mar 04, 2018 3:04 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Star Wars Battlefront III - .rax Model Files

Here is a blend file to import .rax files.
It needs to install Blender version 249b and Python version 26x ( both 32 bits ).

First copy "fmt_SWBF3_x2t.py" to Noesis plugins\python dir.

Doubleclick "Blender249.blend" and in Blender Text Window :


========You need paste correct path to noesis IN LINE 7===========

Code:

import newGameLib
from newGameLib import *
import Blender   



noesisPath="D:\\game3DmodelImporter\\tools\\Noesis\\noesisv412\\Noesis.exe" #HERE HERE HERE

def raxParser(filename,g):
   if os.path.exists(noesisPath)==False:
      Blender.Draw.PupMenu("set correct Noesis path: line 69")

   result=1
   
   


Than press alt+p and select .rax file.
DONT MOVE MOUSE and WAIT for questions:

Most important is menu, where you must select number: 8,12,16,20.

Most for rigged models select 12.
Most for static like ships select 8.
But not always works, so try others

If you paste correct path to noesis you got messeges from Noesis, skip... or look at Blender console
and you can read filesize for .x2t file , which is not supported by Noesis and than paste new code in Noesis script like

Code:
   if len(data)==1441816:
      imgFmt = 2                      #set the image format 1 2 3 4 5 6
      imgWidth = 1024                 #set the image width
      imgHeight = 1024                #set the image height
      
      


So, one more time:
- copy noesis script
- make correct path for Noesis

Sorry for bad english.

Ach forgot, "fmt_SWBF3_x2t.py" by Acewell

Blender script don't import normal and specular textures.

Attachments:
Blender249[StarWarsBattlefrontIII][Xbox][rax][2018-03-04].zip [72.53 KiB]
Downloaded 94 times
Panorama.jpg [360.97 KiB]
Not downloaded yet
screen.jpg [322.1 KiB]
Not downloaded yet

Author:  YoYoCoruscant [ Sun Mar 04, 2018 8:31 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Star Wars Battlefront III - .rax Model Files

Szkaradek123 wrote:
Here is a blend file to import .rax files.
It needs to install Blender version 249b and Python version 26x ( both 32 bits ).

First copy "fmt_SWBF3_x2t.py" to Noesis plugins\python dir.

Doubleclick "Blender249.blend" and in Blender Text Window :


========You need paste correct path to noesis IN LINE 7===========

Code:

import newGameLib
from newGameLib import *
import Blender   



noesisPath="D:\\game3DmodelImporter\\tools\\Noesis\\noesisv412\\Noesis.exe" #HERE HERE HERE

def raxParser(filename,g):
   if os.path.exists(noesisPath)==False:
      Blender.Draw.PupMenu("set correct Noesis path: line 69")

   result=1
   
   


Than press alt+p and select .rax file.
DONT MOVE MOUSE and WAIT for questions:

Most important is menu, where you must select number: 8,12,16,20.

Most for rigged models select 12.
Most for static like ships select 8.
But not always works, so try others

If you paste correct path to noesis you got messeges from Noesis, skip... or look at Blender console
and you can read filesize for .x2t file , which is not supported by Noesis and than paste new code in Noesis script like

Code:
   if len(data)==1441816:
      imgFmt = 2                      #set the image format 1 2 3 4 5 6
      imgWidth = 1024                 #set the image width
      imgHeight = 1024                #set the image height
      
      


So, one more time:
- copy noesis script
- make correct path for Noesis

Sorry for bad english.

Ach forgot, "fmt_SWBF3_x2t.py" by Acewell

Script dont import normal and specular textures.


Very nice work! Appreciate it.

Just two things. Would you be able to add normal map,specular map,alpha map functionality (pretty much the other maps the game uses) since they are integral for the look/quality models.

And would animation importing be possible?/Does it work already? (I heard frames would be missing but apparently they can be fixed by manually editing the points back and forth to a correct ones after importation).

Found some animations samples here from an older post: http://www.mediafire.com/file/9lexh24wl ... ations.rar

Author:  Acewell [ Sun Mar 04, 2018 8:49 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Star Wars Battlefront III - .rax Model Files

about the x2t files, my Noesis script will open all images in the game, you just have to set format, width and height by hand,
but it can not always work by file size because you can have a dxt1 and dxt5 image the same file size but with
different dimensions, or same format but with height and width dimension swapped. i have a slightly better script that
tries to read footer data when it exist and guesses other based on file size but have not yet released because i believe some
where in the game files there must exist a file with info for all footer less images in the game. :)

edit
link to release thread on Xentax :)
http://forum.xentax.com/viewtopic.php?f=18&t=13868

Author:  episoder [ Sun Mar 04, 2018 11:06 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Star Wars Battlefront III - .rax Model Files

interesting numbers. i shoulda tried those for the madagascar thing. i bruteforced it with math.

i have the 70217 rar here too. is that the one? i could have a look at the files too.

Author:  YoYoCoruscant [ Mon Mar 05, 2018 12:39 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Star Wars Battlefront III - .rax Model Files

episoder wrote:
interesting numbers. i shoulda tried those for the madagascar thing. i bruteforced it with math.

i have the 70217 rar here too. is that the one? i could have a look at the files too.


Yep that is correct. Only one which was leaked.

Author:  episoder [ Mon Mar 05, 2018 4:42 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Star Wars Battlefront III - .rax Model Files

okay. extraced that load (again? i think i did once before), and.. i think there is no file with header *cough* footer data. it seems it's just how incomplete and broken this alpha build is. i mean... the footers are there. they are just empty. so... no point holding back the script imo.

my head burned out already tryna compute and merge the read data with this other format numbers. not a good day to hex. :)

Author:  Szkaradek123 [ Mon Mar 05, 2018 5:42 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Star Wars Battlefront III - .rax Model Files

@Acewell

...about the x2t files, my Noesis script will open all images in the game...


Sorry my mistake in :

...Ach forgot, "fmt_SWBF3_x2t.py" by Acewell
Script dont import normal and specular textures....

Of course i should to write : "Blender script" . My stupid language design....

Author:  Raven [ Sun Mar 11, 2018 12:55 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Star Wars Battlefront III - .rax Model Files

the blender script works for interior and big files ??
example: tributary interior

Author:  Thiago88 [ Thu Mar 15, 2018 5:43 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Star Wars Battlefront III - .rax Model Files

Szkaradek123 wrote:
@Acewell

...about the x2t files, my Noesis script will open all images in the game...


Sorry my mistake in :

...Ach forgot, "fmt_SWBF3_x2t.py" by Acewell
Script dont import normal and specular textures....

Of course i should to write : "Blender script" . My stupid language design....



Hello Szkaradek123!!! I tried to use this Blender script to import .rax files, but the program does not load the assets. I am using version 249b of Blender and Phyton 2.6.2. Should the content of the files "Blender249 [Psk] [Psa] [2014-08-31]" be inside the Blender directory? I can open the script and enter the path to Noesis, press Alt + P and select the .rax file, but it does not load.

Author:  Szkaradek123 [ Thu Mar 15, 2018 6:58 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Star Wars Battlefront III - .rax Model Files

I always install Blender and Python , and all blend files after double click open with Blender.
It is very easy.
I don't click icon of Blender , but only blend file - in this case "Blender249.blend".
If blend file dont want open with Blender check properties (RBM) what soft open blend file and change to Blender.exe - version 249b

No need to copy any file to Blender directory .

Author:  YoYoCoruscant [ Thu Mar 15, 2018 8:35 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Star Wars Battlefront III - .rax Model Files

Szkaradek123 wrote:
I always install Blender and Python , and all blend files after double click open with Blender.
It is very easy.
I don't click icon of Blender , but only blend file - in this case "Blender249.blend".
If blend file dont want open with Blender check properties (RBM) what soft open blend file and change to Blender.exe - version 249b

No need to copy any file to Blender directory .


Any chance of importing animations? Would really complete it. But might be tricky.

Author:  TheXexArchives [ Wed Apr 11, 2018 9:35 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Star Wars Battlefront III - .rax Model Files

YoYoCoruscant wrote:
Szkaradek123 wrote:
I always install Blender and Python , and all blend files after double click open with Blender.
It is very easy.
I don't click icon of Blender , but only blend file - in this case "Blender249.blend".
If blend file dont want open with Blender check properties (RBM) what soft open blend file and change to Blender.exe - version 249b

No need to copy any file to Blender directory .


Any chance of importing animations? Would really complete it. But might be tricky.



has anyone figured out how to implement debug functions or to modify the games frame rate?

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited
https://www.phpbb.com/