ZenHAX

Free Game Research Forum | Official QuickBMS support | twitter @zenhax | SSL HTTPS://zenhax.com
It is currently Tue Apr 20, 2021 5:49 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Mar 26, 2021 2:24 pm 

Joined: Sun Nov 08, 2020 1:07 pm
Posts: 31
Hi, I want to know its possible to don't use bms file and instead pass script to exe itself?


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Mar 26, 2021 7:56 pm 
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2014 9:32 pm
Posts: 12096
there is a way via command-line, example:
quickbms -0 -V -s "get DUMMY long ; get DUMMY2 long" "" file.dat

-0 -V are used only for debugging purposes.

Other real examples (also reported in quickbms.txt):
Code:
  quickbms.exe -s "comtype zlib ; get ZSIZE asize ; xmath SIZE \"ZSIZE * 10\" ; clog \"dump.dat\" 0 ZSIZE SIZE" "" input_file.dat output_folder
  quickbms.exe -s "comtype gzip_compress ; get SIZE asize ; clog new.gz 0 SIZE SIZE" "" YOUR_INPUT_FILE


There is even a way to embed a script inside quickbms.exe and it will be used by default without asking to select a script:
Code:
C] Modkit distribution of quickbms.exe
--------------------------------------

In response to a request of a modder, I have decided to add a
simple feature to allow modders and modkits developers to embed a
script in quickbms.exe when they distribute it in their products,
so the user will not be asked to select the script.

How to do it:

- open quickbms.exe with a hex editor
- search the string "SET THIS BYTE X TO 0x00"
- replace the 'X' (0x58) with a NULL (0x00):
  53 45 54 20 54 48 49 53 20 42 59 54 45 20 58 20   SET THIS BYTE X
  53 45 54 20 54 48 49 53 20 42 59 54 45 20 00 20   SET THIS BYTE 

- upx.exe -9 quickbms.exe

- copy /b  quickbms.exe  +  script.bms   output.exe

That's all, anyway if you want to use the "classical" way and being
able to specify options, input file and output folder, it's better
to use the BAT solution with the -G option for the GUI mode:

  EXTRACT.BAT:
    quickbms.exe -G OPTIONS SCRIPT INPUT OUTPUT


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Mar 26, 2021 9:55 pm 

Joined: Sun Nov 08, 2020 1:07 pm
Posts: 31
thank you, its exactly what i wanted


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited