ZenHAX
https://zenhax.com/

assassin_creed2.bms reimport problem
https://zenhax.com/viewtopic.php?f=13&t=7989
Page 1 of 1

Author:  cockafej [ Wed Jun 06, 2018 5:20 pm ]
Post subject:  assassin_creed2.bms reimport problem

Hi Aluigi,

Thank you for your job and sorry for my little bad english knowledge :D

I want to localization the prince of persia 2008 XBOX360 game.
The assassin_creeed2.bms was perfect to extract the LocalizationPackage_English file, but when i reimport the extracted file with the same script, the script asks for me:
Do you want to use the experimental reimporting of chuncked MEMORY_FILE <y/N>?
If I choose the NO, the method is running ERROR:
54 log MEMORY_FILE OFFSET SIZE
If I choose the YES, the method is working, but the reimporting file is almost empty...not valid LocalizationPackage_English file.

Aluigi, can you help me for this problem?
Thank you

I attach the original file

Attachments:
LocalizationPackage_English.rar [202.97 KiB]
Downloaded 23 times

Author:  aluigi [ Wed Jun 06, 2018 8:17 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: assassin_creed2.bms reimport problem

Sure, I have updated the script to version 0.1.1 for not using the MEMORY_FILE, now there are more chances of successfully reimporting the files.
Try it:
http://aluigi.org/bms/assassin_creed2.bms

Author:  cockafej [ Wed Jun 06, 2018 8:54 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: assassin_creed2.bms reimport problem

aluigi wrote:
Sure, I have updated the script to version 0.1.1 for not using the MEMORY_FILE, now there are more chances of successfully reimporting the files.
Try it:
http://aluigi.org/bms/assassin_creed2.bms


Thank you Aluigi, this is perfect!
You are great ;)

Author:  Graveyard [ Fri Jun 08, 2018 7:14 am ]
Post subject:  Re: assassin_creed2.bms reimport problem

cockafej wrote:
aluigi wrote:
Sure, I have updated the script to version 0.1.1 for not using the MEMORY_FILE, now there are more chances of successfully reimporting the files.
Try it:
http://aluigi.org/bms/assassin_creed2.bms


Thank you Aluigi, this is perfect!
You are great ;)



Could you share the tool that was used to export and reimport the texts?

Author:  cockafej [ Fri Jun 08, 2018 3:28 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: assassin_creed2.bms reimport problem

Graveyard wrote:
cockafej wrote:
aluigi wrote:
Sure, I have updated the script to version 0.1.1 for not using the MEMORY_FILE, now there are more chances of successfully reimporting the files.
Try it:
http://aluigi.org/bms/assassin_creed2.bms


Thank you Aluigi, this is perfect!
You are great ;)



Could you share the tool that was used to export and reimport the texts?


Hi,

I am not using any tools for the texts.
I extract the localization_pack file from *.forge file with the scimitar.bms
For the extract from the localization_pack file to the "raw" texts with this updated assassin_creed2.bms

I am going to modify the "raw" texts with HEX editor manually... :-(
Easy, but very slowly...
I have not founded any tools for the "raw" texts modify.

Author:  Graveyard [ Fri Jun 08, 2018 7:03 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: assassin_creed2.bms reimport problem

cockafej wrote:
Graveyard wrote:
cockafej wrote:

Thank you Aluigi, this is perfect!
You are great ;)



Could you share the tool that was used to export and reimport the texts?


Hi,

I am not using any tools for the texts.
I extract the localization_pack file from *.forge file with the scimitar.bms
For the extract from the localization_pack file to the "raw" texts with this updated assassin_creed2.bms

I am going to modify the "raw" texts with HEX editor manually... :-(
Easy, but very slowly...
I have not founded any tools for the "raw" texts modify.



OK thank you for the attention. Good luck in the venture. :D

Author:  cockafej [ Sat Jun 09, 2018 9:31 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: assassin_creed2.bms reimport problem

aluigi wrote:
Sure, I have updated the script to version 0.1.1 for not using the MEMORY_FILE, now there are more chances of successfully reimporting the files.
Try it:
http://aluigi.org/bms/assassin_creed2.bms


Hi Aluigi,

Can you help me?
The updated script is perfect, but i need a little modify.
When I reimport the ectracted files, before I have to modify the original file with hand (the old size to new size). So it can import the script the modified datas.

You can change the script to does it itself?

Thank you :-)

Attachment:
Error.jpg [106.43 KiB]
Downloaded 1 time

Author:  aluigi [ Sat Jun 09, 2018 9:41 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: assassin_creed2.bms reimport problem

If you have not modified that file, remove it from the folder so quickbms will not try to reimport an unchanged file.
If you modified it try to reduce the "entropy", "aaaaa" is a low entropy that compresses better than "abcde".

Author:  cockafej [ Sat Jun 09, 2018 10:19 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: assassin_creed2.bms reimport problem

aluigi wrote:
If you have not modified that file, remove it from the folder so quickbms will not try to reimport an unchanged file.
If you modified it try to reduce the "entropy", "aaaaa" is a low entropy that compresses better than "abcde".


But, this is only 1 file. i can't remove it from folder.

When i extracted the file with the script, it have told it is extracted 1130 files... (but only 2 files, because it merge this files):

*_0
*_1

you can make a new assasin_crred2.bms script, what does not merges this 1130 files?

The original file is here:
https://www59.zippyshare.com/v/hHGYzGL5/file.html

Thank you Aluigi

Author:  aluigi [ Sat Jun 09, 2018 10:34 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: assassin_creed2.bms reimport problem

That's a misunderstanding caused by how quickbms counts the files because here the files are splitted in chunks and till the current quickbms every file writing operation is considered as one file (which is correct) but it's confusing if they are chunks.

The upcoming quickbms will not have this problem, I improved the final statistics some weeks ago.

So yes you are right you can't remove a part of the file.
Unfortunately I don't have a solution because quickbms already uses the compression algorithms with their highest compression ratio, but sometimes different settings give better results on some files.

Author:  cockafej [ Sat Jun 09, 2018 10:44 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: assassin_creed2.bms reimport problem

Thank you, then i'm still trying... ;-)

Author:  aluigi [ Sat Jun 09, 2018 10:59 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: assassin_creed2.bms reimport problem

Anyway note that your offsets in the image you post are not the same of the original values from 0002e09a they are all screwed.
That's something bad, have you tried to use reimport2.bat maybe?
99% of the chunked files aren't valid for reimport2, only the normal reimport can be used.
Yeah technical stuff... I know.

Author:  cockafej [ Sat Jun 09, 2018 11:06 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: assassin_creed2.bms reimport problem

Yes i have tried the reimport2, but only 700 files reimported. The rest is error... skipping :-(

Attachments:
Error2.jpg [247.86 KiB]
Downloaded 1 time

Author:  aluigi [ Sat Jun 09, 2018 11:20 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: assassin_creed2.bms reimport problem

Do not use reimport2 for the archives of this game (there is no way for quickbms to recognize if an archive is valid or not for reimport2).
No other solutions.

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited
https://www.phpbb.com/