ZenHAX

Free Game Research Forum | Official QuickBMS support | twitter @zenhax | SSL HTTPS://zenhax.com
It is currently Mon Dec 09, 2019 1:07 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Dec 03, 2019 3:15 am 

Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2018 8:52 am
Posts: 88
I see I'm close to finding the file just cant seem to get that face order down. Here is the research.
Image
Vertex
Image
UV's
Image
UV Layout
Image
Face Error

Anyone see something I don't here ?

Sample File
https://drive.google.com/file/d/17hqrJk ... sp=sharing


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Dec 03, 2019 8:26 am 

Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2018 8:52 am
Posts: 88
I chose to use Ninjaripper on the program seems to work with version 1.1.4.
I was able to capture everything in the first mission.
Image

As everyone knows ninja ripper does't capture bone/animation data.
Image

But luckly I know a thing or two about it. This is close to the structure I just need to center things better for vertex weights.
Image

Manually painting in the correct vertex weight size.

I would still like to find the algorithm to this data because creating a bone structure from a posed model would be a lot easier than this route.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Dec 05, 2019 2:21 pm 

Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2015 9:44 am
Posts: 15
Code:
typedef struct
{
short   VertexID2;
short   VertexID1;
short   MatID;
short   VertexID3;
}Face;

Per vertexElement size: 8 bytes.
The face start:0x5be15 end:0x5f9ed size:15320 bytes numFace:15320/8=1915.
MR does not support such padding. So you can't view the model correctly with MR.

I think you should have missed the “short MatID”.
This is a standard RenderWare engine file.
The PAK struct : TXD(Texture Native)+CLUMP.


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Dec 06, 2019 12:03 am 

Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2018 8:52 am
Posts: 88
ERRRR why is it that Model Researcher dosen't do that ? is it the padding ? i have the same problem in Parasite Eve. Like no matter what I try the data wont line up the way I need it to [padding]. So what can i do here ?


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Dec 06, 2019 9:01 am 

Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2015 9:44 am
Posts: 15
You can use Noesis.
I wrote a simple script only for the current sample.
Image


Attachments:
model.png [62.24 KiB]
Not downloaded yet
File comment: simple python script for Noesis
fmt_ EvilDeadRegeneration_pak.zip [735 Bytes]
Downloaded 9 times
Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Dec 06, 2019 9:41 am 

Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2015 9:44 am
Posts: 15
I see that you have purchased MR, right? I thought this script would be useful, but I didn't test it.
scripts usage http://mr.game-viewer.org/tutorial.php? ... mr_scripts
Code:
import mrp

f = mrp.get_bfile()

verts = []
faces = []
numVert=1419
numFace=1915
f.seek(0x5fa05)
for i in range(numVert):
    verts.append( f.read3Float() )

f.seek(0x5be15)
for i in range(numFace):
    f2 = f.readShort()
    f1 = f.readShort()
    matid = f.readShort()
    f3 = f.readShort()
    faces.append( (f1,f2,f3) )

mesh = mrp.get_mesh()
mesh.set_vertices(verts)
mesh.set_faces(faces)

mrp.render()



Last edited by Allen on Sat Dec 07, 2019 2:26 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Dec 07, 2019 1:52 am 

Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2018 8:52 am
Posts: 88
Thanks man, that's awesome!!. I really appriacte you taking the time to look into that for me. Means a lot for real. Not to many people are willing to help anymore I feel like. So again thank you. You seem to know how to make scripts fairly easily. Do you you have a tutorial ? I could use a script on the 2012 models to Twisted metal instead of extracting each offest/mesh. If you could just explain the basics. Like i know where the Vertex,Face,and UV offsets but I don't know how to make a script that will look at the .NGP file and extract each time it sees the 00 00 00 01 for faces and the 80 ?? 80 ?? 80 ?? for the vertex. A simple script would help, I went through each offset manually and my data his ridiculous. Over 1,000,000 offsets in the one UI.NGP. But that is where I found all the models in order. They don't seem to have the damage mesh in the file, which is good because the main files were very hard to understand. If you could and I would greatly appreciate it if you could look into this for me. They are simple files I just don't know anything about scripts. Here is the .UI file along with my Research.txt.

Sample File
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1XhQfst ... sp=sharing

UI.txt Research
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1YpejOw ... sp=sharing

I beg you.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Dec 07, 2019 3:09 am 

Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2015 9:44 am
Posts: 15
Usually you need to understand the structure of the file, and then write a general formula script to read the structure, you can automatically get the offset position of the model.
First, you need to understand the characteristics of the data of the vertices, faces, UVs, and normals and the starting offset of the data. Based on the offset address of these data, the index and format of the offset are searched up step by step.
This requires constant observation of data and accumulation of experience. You also need to learn to write a scripting language.
This is not short-term and requires a certain amount of experience.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Dec 07, 2019 3:34 am 

Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2018 8:52 am
Posts: 88
I see. I just don't understand the language is all. I wish there were instructional videos on how to do it. BTW that script produced a .bin? What do I do with that it doesn't load like yours does in noesis. Also tried that script in MR and no luck threw a syntax error.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Dec 07, 2019 4:07 am 

Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2015 9:44 am
Posts: 15
DJ Normality wrote:
I see. I just don't understand the language is all. I wish there were instructional videos on how to do it. BTW that script produced a .bin? What do I do with that it doesn't load like yours does in noesis. Also tried that script in MR and no luck threw a syntax error.

Sorry, I entered a wrong character, and you try the MR script again. I have edited it.
Noesis script you need put it to Noesis\plugins\python folder.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Dec 07, 2019 2:01 pm 

Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2018 8:52 am
Posts: 88
Ok your Noesis script don't work. It gives me a .bin file that i can do nothing with. It holds the same information as my file. So not too sure what this is.
Image
And the script for MR don't work. Here is the error.
Image
Sorry but I have been looking into what you have posted for a few hours now and it just don't seem to work. Instead of making a script that just does one file can you make one that does any .PAK? If not ill just reverse them manually.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Dec 07, 2019 2:33 pm 

Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2015 9:44 am
Posts: 15
You try again MR script.
Since I do not have a paid version of MR, I have just started to contact python these days, so I have not tested it, and I have made some syntax errors.

The noesis script works fine on my computer. When I put the script in the plugin directory, I just need to double-click the ash.pak file.

I can help you write a script only for the model, you need to upload a few more files.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Dec 07, 2019 11:21 pm 

Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2018 8:52 am
Posts: 88
Never mind man. Your talking in circles.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Dec 08, 2019 12:35 am 

Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2015 9:44 am
Posts: 15
DJ Normality wrote:
Never mind man. Your talking in circles.

I seem to feel malicious, a pak file cannot confirm the structure, so ok, I won't help with this. My original intention was just to provide some small tips and help. People always want to get more. Do you think I'm playing with you?


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Dec 08, 2019 7:50 pm 

Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2018 8:52 am
Posts: 88
No its alright I just don't understand coding. I deal with byte and file structures nothing more. So writing a program for me is next to impossible. I have tried in the past using C# and other programs like visual studio, still don't understand. I can look at data and extract it. An along side of desiging model assets and textures i just have no desire to learn how to script or build programs. I would just pay someone to do that for me if it ever come down to it. Right now I just use what tools I have now to try and get a 3D asset. Back to its original state.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 

All times are UTC


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited