ZenHAX

Free Game Research Forum | Official QuickBMS support | twitter @zenhax
It is currently Wed Sep 28, 2022 5:54 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 21 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Aug 17, 2022 3:55 pm 

Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2015 7:09 pm
Posts: 1037
Spiderman Remastered (PC) model tool

Temporary release. Can be used with .model files extracted with JediJosh tool.

Image

Image

If I decide to make custom model import tool, it will be also posted here.


Attachments:
spiderman_pc_model.7z [38.31 KiB]
Downloaded 1628 times
Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Aug 25, 2022 6:32 am 

Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2015 7:09 pm
Posts: 1037
After all the tests, I decided to release my custom model import tool, because it seems it will be very useful for the community. Before release I will try and add a few more most important features to it, such as multi-mesh support, and then release it.

Then I plan to look into PS4 Peter's head and see if it will be possible to port it to PC.

Image

Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Aug 26, 2022 7:24 pm 

Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2015 7:09 pm
Posts: 1037
Custom model import tool v0.3 beta

It INJECTS geometry/skin data from ascii to model.

Usage: spiderman_pc_mi.exe <model> <ascii>

The model used is just a template for injection. It better be original advanced suit (hero_spiderman_body.model), because i only tested it, as it has lots of materials and many vertices. After you mod it, you can replace any model with it. Also you CAN try other suits, but no guarantee.

It will also output a "check" ascii, which is a passthrough to make sure it work or not, also that ascii will have a list of materials used for reference.

Image


Attachments:
spiderman_pc_mi.7z [43.12 KiB]
Downloaded 1380 times
Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Aug 27, 2022 4:34 am 

Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2015 7:09 pm
Posts: 1037
First of all, as i said, this was supposed to be my own test tool, that i made for reversing/testing needs, so i'm not surprised people are struggling with using it.

About materials.

Its different things, if you want to change existing model, or create a new one. I didnt expect people trying to use the tool this way.
The materials in the new model are assigned in natural order: 0, 1, 2, 3, etc
While in existing model they are assigned in the order devs did it. For example, for advanced suit its: 13, 10, 14, 7, 4, ...
Thats why it looks like they are "messed up".


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Aug 27, 2022 4:48 am 

Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2015 7:09 pm
Posts: 1037
4 weights is not the limit of the format. I just did first experiments with 4 to avoid possible problems. But when yesterday i tried to add more, i messed up something in my code, and it ruined the skin. So since i had no time to investigate the issue, i just reverted back to 4 for this beta release.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Aug 27, 2022 10:36 am 

Joined: Sat Aug 27, 2022 10:32 am
Posts: 2
How do I import the .ascii into a .model? Ive been trying with the tool but it wont work :(


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Aug 27, 2022 5:22 pm 

Joined: Sat Aug 27, 2022 5:20 pm
Posts: 1
im ignorant af, not a modder just excited to see this coming along. i downloaded the tool, its just a cmd that opens for about two seconds then closes. how am i meant to use this? again, forgive my ignorance.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Aug 27, 2022 7:01 pm 

Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2015 7:09 pm
Posts: 1037
Here is version 0.31 beta

The only change is it's supposed to fix the LOD problem. Also may fix some FPS drops.


Attachments:
spiderman_pc_mi.7z [43.17 KiB]
Downloaded 302 times
Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Aug 27, 2022 10:21 pm 

Joined: Sat Aug 27, 2022 12:00 am
Posts: 1
it doesnt open it just closes


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Aug 28, 2022 1:38 pm 

Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2015 7:09 pm
Posts: 1037
Version 0.32 beta

Changes:
- FPS drop must be finally fixed
- changed "too many vertices" message. Its actually 65535 max.


Attachments:
spiderman_pc_mi.7z [43.64 KiB]
Downloaded 208 times
Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Aug 28, 2022 5:28 pm 

Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2015 7:09 pm
Posts: 1037
Version 0.4 beta

Changes:
- support for static meshes (map assets etc.)
- support for almost any skeletal mesh if they have no more than 256 bones in their skeleton

Image


Attachments:
spiderman_pc_mi.7z [43.7 KiB]
Downloaded 591 times
Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Aug 30, 2022 11:29 am 

Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2015 7:09 pm
Posts: 1037
Version 0.41 beta

- LOD problem fixed again
- test output .ascii from model import tool now has "modout" suffix, to not confuse it with clean .ascii file
- added check for maximum vertex/face counts, in case of overflow tool stops with a message
- fixed some rare models (for example iron spiders legs)
- removed "face fail" message, we dont need it anymore
- direct material assignment on import

This last feature will be described in details below.


Attachments:
spiderman_pc.7z [77.04 KiB]
Downloaded 304 times
Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Aug 30, 2022 11:49 am 

Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2015 7:09 pm
Posts: 1037
Direct material assignment
=========================================
In short, new export tool now exports text material list, and you can edit this file, and it will be used on import. Now if you just export any model and import it back, it will work, and materials will not be changed.

So the process is now:

- export .model with new spiderman_pc_model.exe
- edit the model or make a new one
- edit materials list
- use spiderman_pc_mi.exe tool as before

Now on a last step, if there is "materials.txt" file with same name as .model file, import tool will assign materials to meshes according to that list. Or if no such file, in natural order like before.

If you dont want to re-export a model, you can make such material list in text editor.
You can edit this file as you like, but don't delete the 1st line "Materials used:".
For convenience, you can delete lines, or move them above/below. Names are not needed, you can just set numbers. The tool only reads numbers in first list, everything else is ignored. Slots in 2nd list are only for reference.

Note that materials can repeat.

p.s. if blender will still somehow mess up meshes order, you will have to rename them, but hopefully this will not happen, because tool now names them with leading zeroes and without underscore.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Aug 30, 2022 5:56 pm 

Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2015 7:09 pm
Posts: 1037
Version 0.45 beta

- supports up to 15 weights per vertex
- added a check for ovefloating weight buffer

The tool will now read all no-zero weights from the file, but no more than 15.
Then it will check weight sum is 1.0, and if not, make warnings.
After that all weights will be automatically normalized.

That means even if you're lazy, model will look ok in game.
But for experts i recommend to check what's wrong and correct it before import.

Image


Attachments:
spiderman_pc.7z [83.79 KiB]
Downloaded 299 times
Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Sep 01, 2022 5:32 pm 

Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2015 7:09 pm
Posts: 1037
Version 0.5 beta

- fixed all crashes / fps drops / lags
(may even fix other unknown bugs/problems)
- submesh limit is now much bigger, all lods instead of just one. Example: 89 submeshes for adv. suit

Everyone is HIGHLY recommended to update their mods done with previous versions of a tool.
Already modded .model will do, but better used on clean original .model file.

Image


Attachments:
spiderman_pc.7z [77.56 KiB]
Downloaded 1109 times
Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Sep 03, 2022 3:44 am 

Joined: Sat Aug 27, 2022 10:32 am
Posts: 2
Sometimes it will mess up the weights, for example, some of the weights, like the foot, may have a tiny but of random red spots on the hand fsr. And if this happens to a lot of the weights this can completely break the model.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Sep 04, 2022 6:29 am 

Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2015 7:09 pm
Posts: 1037
Version 0.51 beta

- limited weights per vertex to 12

It was a mistake that this game supports 15 or 16 weights, its only 12 max.


Attachments:
spiderman_pc.7z [83.78 KiB]
Downloaded 1665 times
Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Sep 07, 2022 12:09 am 

Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2022 11:13 pm
Posts: 1
Is there a download link that isn't infected with viruses?


Attachments:
Capture.PNG [6.12 KiB]
Not downloaded yet
Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Sep 07, 2022 3:09 pm 

Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2015 7:09 pm
Posts: 1037
nianthma wrote:
Is there a download link that isn't infected with viruses?

the link is NOT infected


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Sep 09, 2022 5:13 pm 

Joined: Fri Sep 09, 2022 3:31 pm
Posts: 1
ty for the hard work!


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 21 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 Next

All times are UTC


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited