ZenHAX

Free Game Research Forum | Official QuickBMS support | twitter @zenhax | SSL HTTPS://zenhax.com
It is currently Sat Sep 22, 2018 6:50 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 340 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 4 517 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Jan 01, 2015 3:38 pm 
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2014 9:32 pm
Posts: 8811
That's an interesting feature.
I cannot use that exact syntax because it may invalidate the current scripts that have a * or a ? inside.
But I can think to another type that allows to handle these special chars, something like:
findloc offset wildcard "N*IF"

Added in the TODO of the next version.
Thanks


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jan 18, 2015 2:42 pm 

Joined: Sat Dec 20, 2014 5:14 pm
Posts: 38
If you input a folder path in the GUI file select window, it selects the folder as input. Quite annoying when you're trying to navigate to a file, and not a folder.


Last edited by TGE on Tue Jan 20, 2015 8:01 am, edited 2 times in total.

Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jan 19, 2015 7:40 am 

Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2014 12:49 pm
Posts: 268
well you was talking about replace string values in bin files, is this still on or you complete left it, it could be interesting and handy in some cases?


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jan 19, 2015 11:43 pm 
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2014 9:32 pm
Posts: 8811
Ah I guess you mean the feature to allow to export and reimport strings.
It would be definitely interesting but I still have no plans to how implement it.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Feb 21, 2015 4:12 am 
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 13, 2014 1:01 am
Posts: 161
I would like a script command to check if a file with a certain filename already exists. I saw that you can do this with the Open command, but I would prefer not to open existing files (since I might be checking many files and this could slow down the script). A simple checking command would be helpful :)


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Feb 21, 2015 9:21 am 
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2014 9:32 pm
Posts: 8811
I think that the Open command with the "exists" argument is the only solution because the slowness you can notice is probably caused by the script engine itself and not the opening of the file.

An alternative solution is the Scandir command that is probably closer to what you need.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Feb 21, 2015 11:22 am 
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 13, 2014 1:01 am
Posts: 161
Well I assumed that Open loads the file into memory, but I just used it in a different script and apparently it doesn't. However, I did notice that it creates the file if it doesn't exist; this would be inconvenient for checking.

Scandir looks like the proper solution though, using the FILTER argument. Thank you!


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Feb 21, 2015 11:38 am 
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2014 9:32 pm
Posts: 8811
That behaviour of Open (creating the file) happens only if you use the reimport feature.
But if you use the reimporting quickbms automatically checks the existence of the files.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Feb 21, 2015 11:50 am 
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 13, 2014 1:01 am
Posts: 161
Oh, it must be the fact that I'm writing to the file. If it doesn't exist and I use a Put command then it creates it.

By the way, is there an easy way to continue loops? Ending the loop early like Break, but not breaking out of the loop, just going directly to the next iteration. If not, I'd like to suggest a Continue command.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Feb 21, 2015 11:57 am 
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2014 9:32 pm
Posts: 8811
The implementation of "continue" and "break" was difficult, in fact break doesn't work in some situations.
In these cases you must use many "if" or some variable set to 1 or 0 that continue the loop.
For example:
Code:
for
    math OK = 1
    if SIGN == "asdf"
        math OK = 0
    elif SIGN == "asdx"
        math OK = 0
    endif

    if OK != 0
        # do something
    endif
next


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Feb 21, 2015 12:33 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 13, 2014 1:01 am
Posts: 161
Mm, OK. My main use for it would be in complex loops where I have to check many things at different points, since otherwise I have to use nested if statements which can end up being a bit ugly.

But if it's difficult to implement then I understand, so it's fine :)


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Feb 23, 2015 11:18 am 

Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2014 10:28 pm
Posts: 177
Is it possible to add a dictionary type to quickbms?


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Feb 23, 2015 1:49 pm 
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2014 9:32 pm
Posts: 8811
Do you mean a dictionary for zlib compression?


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Feb 23, 2015 10:10 pm 

Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2014 10:28 pm
Posts: 177
i mean like an array only a dict type.
https://docs.python.org/2/tutorial/data ... ctionaries


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Feb 23, 2015 10:25 pm 
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2014 9:32 pm
Posts: 8811
The only way to have something similar is using the arrays but it's not the same.
Note that if you use "putarray 0 -1 VAR" it will append the VAR to the array 0 so you don't need to increment an index. I forgot to document it in quickbms.txt


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Mar 25, 2015 9:45 am 
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2014 9:32 pm
Posts: 8811
Maybe it's a stupid idea but what you think about offzip embedded in quickbms?
Basically the idea is being able to reimport the files back without using packzip.

Obviously it would be not limited to zlib but to any compression algorithm, but don't be happy because only zlib, deflate, lzma and probably few others are reliable (zero or few false positives) and don't crash.


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Mar 27, 2015 7:40 am 
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 13, 2014 1:01 am
Posts: 161
I think this is a pretty good idea. The only real downside is that people who simply want to use the Offzip functionality would have to download QuickBMS entirely. It's not a big issue though. Personally I use both and having them in one program would be helpful.

What would the syntax for running it be? I imagine something like this?
Code:
quickbms -z myfile.comp myfile.dec 0x100


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Mar 27, 2015 3:32 pm 
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2014 9:32 pm
Posts: 8811
offzip will continue to exist while this feature (a bms command or command-line option) is just for experimenting with the huge amount of compressions in quickbms.


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Mar 27, 2015 5:08 pm 
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2014 9:32 pm
Posts: 8811
Ah, I have just started to work on the new version of quickbms and I have already done half of the things in my TODO.
Hope to have everything ready before the end of next week.

If anyone has suggestions and feedbacks, that's the right moment :)


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Mar 28, 2015 6:44 am 

Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2014 12:49 pm
Posts: 268
aluigi wrote:
Ah, I have just started to work on the new version of quickbms and I have already done half of the things in my TODO.
Hope to have everything ready before the end of next week.

If anyone has suggestions and feedbacks, that's the right moment :)


Still considering string replacement ?


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 340 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 4 517 Next

All times are UTC


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited