ZenHAX

Free Game Research Forum | Official QuickBMS support | twitter @zenhax | SSL HTTPS://zenhax.com
It is currently Mon Oct 22, 2018 10:53 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 21 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Wolfenstein New Order
PostPosted: Sun Nov 19, 2017 11:44 am 

Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2015 7:09 pm
Posts: 802
Wolfenstein New Order model tool

Drag .bmd6model file into the tool. Corresponding .md6skl must be in the same dir.

Image
Image


Attachments:
Wolf_tno_model.rar [10.05 KiB]
Downloaded 127 times
Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Nov 20, 2017 3:49 am 

Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2017 3:01 am
Posts: 17
thank you so much!!!


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jan 23, 2018 9:19 am 

Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2015 4:36 pm
Posts: 3
thank U for this tool, I'm so like this game's concept.
but when I try it, it always crashed.
Attachment:
20180123171445.png [46.7 KiB]
Downloaded 1 time


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jan 23, 2018 5:17 pm 

Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2015 7:09 pm
Posts: 802
skeleton must be .md6skl


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jan 24, 2018 10:14 am 

Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2015 4:36 pm
Posts: 3
id-daemon wrote:
skeleton must be .md6skl


thank U for your help,very. but it still can't work. I try found where am I wrong, can you help me point it?
1. first I export files, I get *.bmd6model *.md6skl(it is a folder) *.bmd6skl
2. yestoday I try put *.bmd6model and *.md6skl(it is a folder) in same folder , they're same name ,of course.
try drag *.bmd6model to "Wolf_tno_model.exe" , it crashed.

3. today I saw your reply, I think maybe *.bmd6skl should be the skeleton. so I rename extension *.bmd6skl to *.md6skl (this time it‘s a file’)
then, try drag *.bmd6model to "Wolf_tno_model.exe" , it still crashed.

I really couldn't found where were wrong, can you help?

anyway, help or not , I'm very thank U for your working, so many great tools to export game assets ,that's help me a lot.


Attachments:
test.rar [501.79 KiB]
Downloaded 72 times
Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jan 24, 2018 3:22 pm 

Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2015 7:09 pm
Posts: 802
Clear "read-only" from files.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Mar 12, 2018 11:50 pm 

Joined: Sun May 31, 2015 2:23 am
Posts: 298
Yeah I'm having the same problems. Nothing is set to read-only, but no matter what I do it just crashes with the 'has stopped working' error.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Mar 13, 2018 5:59 am 

Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2015 7:09 pm
Posts: 802
no its not the same problem. his problem was read-only files

check filenames
skeleton must correspond to model


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Mar 20, 2018 12:48 pm 

Joined: Sun May 31, 2015 2:23 am
Posts: 298
Got it working, finally. But uh...when will we be able to extract textures? Kind of hard to use the models for anything without proper textures, haha...


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jun 12, 2018 11:52 am 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2016 1:18 pm
Posts: 11
id-daemon wrote:
Image

Shading looks completely broken, normals is autogovnerated i guess?..


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jun 12, 2018 12:19 pm 

Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2015 7:09 pm
Posts: 802
No, normals are original and properly extracted.

Its blender SMD importer failing to load them from SMD


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jun 12, 2018 12:37 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2016 1:18 pm
Posts: 11
SMD importer doesn't work with normals data?
So, i need to use some converter (Noesis?), if i need accurate normals?


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jun 12, 2018 12:42 pm 

Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2015 7:09 pm
Posts: 802
maybe theres a way to load it in blender, but not sure how
for now, yes, use noesis or something else


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jun 12, 2018 1:09 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2016 1:18 pm
Posts: 11
Looks like a big problem with SMD-format itself: https://steamcommunity.com/groups/Blend ... 021748065/
All triangles is stored separated, and you have 2 bad options for import - autoweld vertices with loosing explicit normals data or leave all trianges disconnected from each other with lots of double vertices... :(


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jun 12, 2018 9:05 pm 

Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2015 7:09 pm
Posts: 802
Its only a problem for blender SMD importer
noesis and other programs work fine with that


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jun 13, 2018 9:02 am 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2016 1:18 pm
Posts: 11
Tried everything i have..

Noesis (Valve SMD):
Image Image
Normals are flipped, shading is broken. F4 didn't help much.

3dsmax9 (Valve SMD):
Image Image
"Rebuild smoothing normals" option on, then off - both fails, for second one normals is flipped and no smooth at all.

3dsmax9 (Half-Life2 SMD (by Cannonfodder)):
Image Image
"Rebuild smoothing groups" option on, then off - both fails.

And Blender (found this tuto, want to give it a try, but..):
Latest blender_source_tools_2.10.2 doesn't have a option for preserving normals at all, reinstalled to blender_source_tools_2.9.1, enabed this option and get this:
Image
There's nothing to preserve or everything fails to read normals :(

Test model attached.


Attachments:
truck.zip [396.07 KiB]
Downloaded 17 times
Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jun 13, 2018 12:23 pm 

Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2015 7:09 pm
Posts: 802
ok normals are not flipped, faces are flipped.
try this new version


Attachments:
Wolf_tno_model.rar [10.12 KiB]
Downloaded 24 times
Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jun 14, 2018 1:28 am 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2016 1:18 pm
Posts: 11
id-daemon wrote:
ok normals are not flipped, faces are flipped.
try this new version

Body faces ok, windows now one-sided from interior, shading same broken.
Noesis:
Image

And this is the best i can get in attempt to fix shading with most advanced script i have for this "Weighted normals":
Image Image
Looks better, but still very far from accurate shaded model.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jun 14, 2018 6:46 am 

Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2015 7:09 pm
Posts: 802
There is no problem in the tool. As I said before, all normals are original and properly extracted.

ID Tech makes their shading different from all others. Ask other people who worked with ID tech games how to work with them.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jun 14, 2018 4:57 pm 

Joined: Sun May 31, 2015 2:23 am
Posts: 298
So uhm, any progress on the texture converter? I mean it's cool to have the models but it's kinda of limited in use without textures.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 21 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 Next

All times are UTC


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited